Users can be blocked by right clicking on a file they’ve sent you. | Image: Google
Google Drive is adding the ability for users to block other accounts from sharing files with them, in a move that’s designed to prevent potential harassment and spam on the platform. The feature, which is rolling out over the next two weeks, also stops accounts from accessing any files you’ve shared with them in the past, and removes any of their past files from your drive.
“Drive’s sharing capabilities fuel productivity and collaboration, but bad actors can abuse tools that are meant to facilitate helpful sharing,” Google’s announcement post says. “That’s why we are creating a way to block other users.” Blocking an account in Drive will also prevent them from interacting with you across other Google services like Hangouts and Chat.