Samar Haddad / The Verge
BeReal is a fun app. But one of its less fun qualities is the element of surprise. You don’t see a preview of yourself while the front-facing camera is shooting, and you don’t know exactly when it’s taking your picture. As a consequence, if you’re in a hurry or otherwise distracted, you may end up posting a photo that you’re unhappy with for the world to see.
Don’t worry: the app doesn’t make it easy, but you can delete BeReals. You can only do it once a day, though — so if you want to make another post, the second one had better be good. Additionally, if you delete a BeReal, you won’t be able to delete the next one you post.
If you’ve thought things through and you’re sure you want to delete your BeReal, here’s how to do it.